X

THANK YOU!

Post has been reported succesfully.

signout

How Do I Join (and Leave) Minecraft Preview?

Note: If you're interested in testing new Minecraft features ahead of time, check out this article to learn more.

Essential Information Before Participating in Minecraft Preview

  • Bedrock Editions of the game have a version called Minecraft Preview for testing features ahead of time. On Android, this version is called Beta.
  • You will not have access to Realms and will not be able to join non-Preview players while you're in Minecraft Preview. 
  • Preview builds will likely be unstable and are not representative of the final version quality. Please back up your Worlds before joining Minecraft Preview. 
  • Finished releases may not include all changes and fixes from Preview to preserve stability and may slip to a later release. 
  • Report bugs to the Mojang Bug Tracker and all feedback to Minecraft Feedback. 

Opting Into and out of Beta 

  • Xbox One and Windows players can opt-in and out of Preview from the Xbox Insider Hub appPlease be aware that opting in and out of the beta may affect all user accounts on a shared device. For Windows players who want to try Preview, see our How to Sign Up for the Minecraft for Windows 10 Beta video 
  • Android players can opt in and out from the Minecraft page of the Google Play Store. 
  • Please remember that unenrolling from Minecraft Preview or Minecraft Beta can sometimes take up to 24 hours. 

Detailed Xbox Opt-out Steps 

  1. Open the Xbox Insider Hub app and unenroll from Minecraft Preview. 
  2. Uninstall Minecraft. 
  3. Hard reset the Xbox console by holding down the power button until the console turns off, wait 10 seconds, and then turn the console back on. 
  4. Reinstall Minecraft from the Ready to Install section of Games & Apps. 

Detailed Windows Opt-Out Steps 

  1. Be sure to back up your worlds first! 
  2. Open the Xbox Insider Hub app and unenroll from Minecraft Preview. 
  3. Uninstall Minecraft. 
  4. Reinstall Minecraft from the Microsoft Store app. 

Multiple Users on One Device 

Please be aware that if you have multiple users or Xbox Live accounts signed in to your Windows 10 device, you will need to make sure that each user has: 

  • Backed up any world saves 
  • Signed into their respective Windows and Xbox Live accounts 
  • Unenrolled from Minecraft Preview
  • Uninstalled the Preview version of the game 

After each user has completed these steps, you can then download the non-Preview version of the game. 

Do you have a Windows PC that is stuck on Preview still, and you don't want to be? Try the Windows store troubleshooter, which resolves the issue for most people. 

If you still have problems, please contact Xbox support for further assistance. 

You can also bookmark the Minecraft Beta Guide and FAQs or this page for future reference. 

Last Updated - 2022-12-10 04:52:45 UTC

Was this article helpful?