Post has been reported succesfully.


Minecraft - Differences Between Creative, Survival, and Hardcore Game Modes

When purchasing Minecraft for either PC, Consoles or Mobile Devices you may encounter different game modes, each tailored to a unique type of play style. This article will discuss each game mode and what they have in common as well as how they differ. 


Creative Mode 

In creative mode the player has all the resources available in the item selection tabs and the survival selection tab. You can also destroy blocks instantly including those which would normally be indestructible. Command and structure blocks can also be used in creative mode. Items also do not lose durability or disappear. There are several blocks that do not appear in creative mode but can be called using the /give command and can be used with the command /setblock. Players like this mode because of the freedom of imagination. The ability to create anything form architectural structures to roller coasters. 

Included in Creative mode 

  • No hunger bar 
  • No health bar 
  • Single use items are not consumed 
  • The use of the search bar 
  • Double tap jump to fly 


Survival Mode 

Survival mode is where the player must collect resources, build structures while surviving in their generated world. You can interact with the local villagers, and at night defend against mobs that attack on sight. Unlike in creative mode, you must work for everything. There are no unlimited blocks. Activities overtime chip away at your health and hunger bar.  


Adventure Mode (Java Edition and Bedrock) 

Adventure mode has limited features to preserve adventure maps from being changed. In this mode, you will not be able to fly. Also, blocks cannot be destroyed by hand, but rather you must use an item with the CanDestroy tag to destroy a block. Blocks can only be placed if the block has the CanPlaceOn tag. When you play in this mode, you will have a health bar, a hunger bar, and an experience bar. You will be able to kill mobs and hostile mobs will attack you. You will take damage and can die in the game. 


Spectator Mode (Java Only) 

Spectator mode is only available in Minecraft: Java Edition. It was first introduced in Minecraft 1.8 to allow players to fly around and observe the Minecraft world. Players in this mode cannot interact with anything in the game but can fly through solid objects. When you play in this mode, you will not have a health bar, a hunger bar, or an experience bar. You will not be able to kill mobs, take damage or die in the game and you will not be visible to players in Survival mode. 


Hardcore Mode (Java Only) 

The same as survival mode, however the game is set to the hardest difficulty, and with only one life. The hearts look slightly different in the shading. If you die in this mode, you will no longer have access to the game world, and you will have to delete it manually. This mode is for those who want a true challenge and like the more realistic feel - so be extra careful when playing in Hardcore mode!  

Last Updated - 2022-11-19 11:58:06 UTC

Was this article helpful?