X

THANK YOU!

Post has been reported succesfully.

Minecraft: Java Edition Realms Billing Issues FAQ

This article addresses billing issues for the Java Edition of Realms. See: Minecraft Realms Plus Billing Issues FAQ,  for Realms Plus billing issues.

 

In This Article

Why are there two versions of Realms servers?

Are there trials available for Minecraft Realms?

How do I renew my expired Realm?

How do I cancel my Minecraft Realms subscription?

 

Why are there are two versions of Realms servers?

We've developed two separate versions of Minecraft so that the game runs well on different platforms. Minecraft, the version you find on mobile, console and Windows 10 (and above) runs on one kind of code, and Minecraft: Java Edition (for PC, Mac and Linux) runs on another.  

These two versions are incompatible with each other and are developed separately with different features. Players on Minecraft: Java Edition can't play on console, mobile or Windows 10 and above, Realms and vice versa.   

Are there trials available for Minecraft Realms? 

We offer a free 30-day trial of Minecraft Realms to players who have not previously had a Realm and have signed up for a 10-user subscription. See the Realms homepage for more information.  

How do I renew my expired Realm? 

Whether you are trying to dust off an old Realm or just forgot to extend your time, you may want to renew an expired Realm. Currently it is not possible to add time to an expired Realm. However, the world within the expired Realm is not lost! After you purchase a new subscription and create a new Realm it is possible to move any backups made of the world within the expired Realm to the new Realm. 

How to create a backup of an expired Realm 

Creating a backup of a world is simple and easy. Creating backups is a good habit and can help you make sure you always keep your world safe.

 Quick guide to creating a backup:

In Minecraft: Java Edition, manually back up your Realm by simply closing and then reopening the Realm. Whenever you do this, it instantly creates a backup. To download the world into your single-player world list, follow our in-depth guide at Minecraft: Java Edition: How Do I Download My Realms World? 

You can export your maps from any version of Realms at any time within an 18 month period after your subscription has expired. After your subscription has been inactive for more than 18 months, your world is permanently deleted from Minecraft servers. 

Replacing a New World with a Backup 

After purchasing a new Realm subscription and creating a new world within that Realm, you can access the Realm configuration menu to upload a backup.

  1. From the main menu select Realms
  2. Find the Realm you wish to modify and select the wrench icon
  3. Under Worlds, select an empty world slot
  4. Click Upload world
  5. Select the backup you would like to load

If you encounter an error that prevents you from downloading your world, or if you are having difficulty uploading your world, please contact Minecraft support for further assistance.

How do I cancel my Minecraft Realms subscription? 

Follow these steps to cancel recurring billing on your subscription:

For Minecraft: Java Edition, log into Minecraft at the Log In page and you will be taken to your Minecraft Profile/Account automatically. Your account page lists all your subscriptions, and you can cancel them at any time by selecting the Yes, Pause button next to your recurring payment. 

mceclip0.png

Last Updated - 2021-10-27 07:05:58 UTC

Was this article helpful?